Turner's Sketchbooks

Turner's Sketchbooks

Turner's Sketchbooks

Turner's sketchbooks provide us with a rare and unique opportunity to witness the building blocks, steps and missteps of an artist unparalleled in impact. They give us a privileged look over Turner's shoulder, allowing us to witness the creation and development of ideas that can be traced through to his most famous paintings. In the absence of detailed written accounts of his extensive travels, the notebooks are also a record of his impressions of the many places he visited across Britain and Europe. This book is the first to survey the full range of Turner's sketchbooks, beginning with his teenage explorations and culminating in the masterful colour studies of his later years.

Review
'Turner's Sketchbooks is the first single volume devoted to the visual notes that he made obsessively for 62 years. Sketches range from the fragmentary scribble that became Rain, Steam and Speed to miniature masterpieces. Perfect for fans of Mr Turner.' - The Independent

About the Author
Ian Warrell is an independent curator specialising in British art of the nineteenth century. He was a curator at Tate for over twenty-five years.

Related Books